Dog insurance in India: how the main insurers compare
By the vetkar team · Updated · 2 min read
The short answer
- We compared what Bajaj General, HDFC ERGO and Digit state on their own dog insurance pages.
- Entry ages, cover and waiting periods differ, and Digit's page gives few details, so check the insurer's terms before you buy.
- Premiums are the insurers' own starting examples for a small, young dog with surgery-only cover, not quotes for your dog.
The plans side by side
Everything below comes from each insurer's public page as of the date at the top. A blank or "not stated" means the page did not say, not that the plan lacks it.
| Insurer | Entry age | Covers | Waiting period | Premium example |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bajaj General Insurance | 3 months to 7 years | Surgery, Hospital stay, Outpatient (OPD), Third-party liability, Theft, loss or straying, Death benefit | Varies by cover; days not stated on the page. | From ₹169 a year for a 1-year-old small dog with ₹10,000 surgery cover. |
| HDFC ERGO | 6 months to 5 years | Surgery, Illness treatment, Outpatient (OPD), Third-party liability | 30 days before cover begins. | From ₹200 a year for a pet under 2 with ₹10,000 surgery-only cover. |
| Digit Insurance | Not stated | Illness treatment | Not stated on the page. | No premium given. |
How to read the table
- Entry age decides whether you can buy at all. Bajaj General lists dogs from 3 months to 7 years (giant breeds to 4). HDFC ERGO lists 6 months to 5 years.
- The premium examples are for a small young dog with a ₹10,000 surgery-only cover. A larger dog, an older dog or a wider cover costs more.
- Pre-existing conditions are excluded, so the best time to buy is while your dog is young and healthy.
- Ask each insurer for the waiting period in days and the sum insured per year, per illness and per claim.
Filter by your dog
Our pet insurance page filters these plans by your dog's age and what you need covered.
Frequently asked questions
Which insurers offer dog insurance in India?
Bajaj General Insurance, HDFC ERGO and Digit each describe dog cover on their own pages. Others exist, and we add an insurer only after reading its official page.
What is the age limit for dog insurance?
Bajaj General states 3 months to 7 years for most dogs and to 4 years for giant breeds. HDFC ERGO states 6 months to 5 years. Digit's page does not say.
How much does dog insurance cost?
Bajaj General says its annual premium starts at ₹169 for a 1-year-old small dog with ₹10,000 surgery cover, and HDFC ERGO says from ₹200 a year for a pet under 2 with ₹10,000 surgery-only cover. Broader cover and larger or older dogs cost more.
Sources
- Bajaj General Insurance: pet insurance page
- HDFC ERGO: pet insurance page
- Digit Insurance: pet insurance page
This is general information written from the sources above. It is not veterinary advice and has not been reviewed by a veterinarian. Your vet knows your pet, so follow their instructions, and see a vet promptly if your pet seems unwell.